Skip to content

Leadeship today

April 24, 2013

It seems that leadership today has become a lost art. When I view the evening news and hear of flight delays and the many other “self-inflicted” wounds we have essentially invited into our society, it is enough to bring tears to one’s eye. The greed that has seemingly taken over this nation’s leaders is astonishing. But then I stop and think; that maybe it’s me. Maybe my personal standards are more than should be placed on any elected official. Maybe I hold the folks we send to state houses and Washington D.C. to a higher standard than is reasonable. Maybe the folks who choose to give up and become apathetic have somehow broken the code. It certainly appears the our leaders want nothing to do with everyday citizens who are going to work, trying to make ends meet in an economy that only knows how to say NO. It appears to some of us that we are existing to provide the numbers necessary to keep the DOW moving in a positive direction for the savvy investor who does not care or recognize my struggles. There has to be something wrong with my logic. Someone please convince me that I am totally off base and completely wrong. We live in the greatest nation on earth. We believe in ourselves and each other…maybe each other even more than ourselves. This is the land of the free and the home of the brave. So please tell me how it can be that the people we send to the nation’s capital can stand before a national audience, not to mention the parents of slaughtered children, and tell us that background checks to purchase assault weapons violate the second amendment. How can these same “honorable” individuals two days later claim that the tragic Boston Marathon bombings require a hold on immigration reform. These actions by OUR elected officials baffle and confuse me. Please help!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment